Audible click on sample stop

Latest version of Mirack running on 6th gen iPad. Headphone jack for output.

Greetings. I’ve been playing with audio for many years but I’m new to mirack and eurorack in general so please forgive me if I’m missing something obvious here.

I’m attempting to create a MIDI playable sampler with 16 slots, like a simplified MPC. If I re-trigger a sample while it is already playing, the interruption/stopping of the playing sample causes an audible click. It makes sense to me that stopping a wave cycle anywhere other than a zero crossing would cause a click… but this isn’t a problem I’ve run into with other software samplers. I’m not clear what the difference is that causes the audible click in my mirack setup.

Things I’ve tried to get rid of the click:

• Tried almost all devices listed under Tags->Sampler to see if any can stop mid-cycle without clicking. They all seem to click on interrupt.
  • Played with the Click and Anti-click knobs. Maybe some improvement but still consistently reproducible click on interrupt.
  • Played with different Envelope devices. Seems like I should be able to stop that click with the right envelope settings but so far no luck.
  • tried using the Squinky Labs Slade. The description of Slade reads as if it was designed to resolve this issue but I don’t completely understand. I was able to wire this in a way that seemed to significantly reduce the likelihood of audio clicks… but not completely

I feel like there’s something simple I’m missing here. Maybe I just need to get my envelope setup correctly. Maybe related to gate vs. trigger of the Samplers. Or maybe mirack isn’t built for what I’m trying accomplish.

Any help/advice/guidance welcome and appreciated.

Hi @alvahsewell, welcome to virtual modular

I would say try a slew limiter on each audio output, like the one from bog audio instead of slade… Slade (I think) adds soft distortion. You only need at most half a second on rise and release times.